Add your review

If you have had an unfavourable experience please contact Kettlewell before submitting a review. We are always happy to resolve any issues you may have experienced. All reviews are posted anonymously.

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: LL COLOUR: Crushed Berry Stripe

I bought this top in crushed berry for a change to the usual navy and white. The fabric is excellent quality and doesn't cling, so it skims over the midriff. It is just the right length as well. One of those tops I will wear again and again.

- Tracey (13/10/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Navy Breton Stripe

Very useful, versatile, good quality top. Washes well.

- Lucie (10/10/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Navy Breton Stripe

Lovely top, true to size, fits well, very comfortable to wear.

- Maddie (09/10/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Navy Breton Stripe

Another great buy from Kettlewell! The Breton top is well made and fits really well. Excellent fabric.

- Pam (27/08/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

A lovely soft Breton top which is very stylish and true to size . As always Kettlewell never fail to please.

- Sonia (16/08/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

Gorgeous pink and great navy - love them both. Fit and quality excellent and I think worth the quite high price.

- Jennifer (09/08/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: X Small COLOUR: Dark Olive Stripe

Thank you to Kettlewell for doing XS sizes! Although a previous reviewer found this top too long, I am 5'0" and the XS is just right for me. The fabric is lovely and soft and I really like the olive green stripe colourway. Have washed it several times now and it is wearing well.

- Susan (08/08/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 4 VALUE 4

SIZE: LL COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Very happy with this top. A lovely fresh looking garment (I chose Bright Teal), comfortable to wear, not clingy (which I dislike), just the right length for me, and the neck is not too wide. Please can we have a few more relaxed fit, non-clingy garments for ladies of a slightly more "comfortable" build?!

- Patricia (08/08/2019)

STYLE 4 QUALITY 3 VALUE 2

SIZE: X Small COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

The Bright Teal version is absolutely stunning! It is by all means the prettiest Breton stipe shade that I've ever had, and I love the boat neck feature which makes it look much more pretty than a regular scoop neck. My only gripe is that even though I'm very slender and always wear XS in Kettlewell clothing, this top is too tight around the shoulders, and mine are by no means wide, nor do I have large breasts. The shoulder area pulls up if I lift my elbows away from my waist even by just a few cm (a driving position or a desk job position, for example). I have the same issue with several other Kettlewell sleeved styles, and my seamstress says that it looks like the cut is made for people with a hunched back. Well, mine is not hunched, but it isn't ballerina-straight either - just a normal, healthy back. I keep returning because of the colour choices, but the recurrent cut&fit issues are very frustrating, especially given the price tag and the very expensive returns from overseas...

- Olivia (30/07/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Beautiful soft cotton, perfect to wear on a cooler summer day. I wear it with white linen trousers.

- Louise (22/07/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 3

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

This is a beautiful top. Very comfortable and soft. I ordered a large first of all, which is the size I normally take with Kettlewell as I am a 12-14. However, it was too big and I returned it and ordered a medium, which is perfect. I am a spring and the colour is great.

- Jane (15/07/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Dark Olive Stripe

I have been very happy with my bright teal breton this season. This season's version is a more generous fit so the M is a better fit for my 12/14 top. Last year I bought an L in the flint stripe. I have now tried the new Dark Olive and the Coral. However, although the dark olive is great the coral doesn't look as good so has been returned.

- Barbara (15/07/2019)

STYLE 3 QUALITY 1 VALUE 1

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Dark Olive Stripe

Rather disappointed with the quality. I paid what I believe is more than normal but the quality was only as good as many other cheaper items on the high street.

- Christine (13/07/2019)

STYLE 4 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Crushed Berry Stripe

Good quality top but unfortunately too long in the body for me at just under 5'3" so I had to return it. I would have described the colour as was more of a rhubarb pink than the lilac shown on the web-site. I really wish it were easier for petite women to get clothes that fit!

- Janet (12/07/2019)

STYLE 4 QUALITY 3 VALUE 3

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Dark Olive Stripe

Have a few of these in different colours. Flattering neckline and shape. Thought I’d try the dark olive which looked a nice green on the website but in reality turned out to be almost brown, not me at all, so returned.

- Jane (05/07/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

Lovely, lovely top! I bought the cerise in a M and also the teal in a M. I’m a size 12 and the cerise was perfect but the teal was huge - looked terrible on me. I exchanged it for a S which fits perfectly! Very strange. So easy to wear and useful for so many occasions.

- Sue L (01/07/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Coral Stripe

Really lovely top. Top quality, mid weight fabric. I'm 12-14 and L is just right. Skims rather than clings and length perfect (I'm 5ft 6). Really liking it with my Lauren Jersey Trousers.

- Jane (27/06/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Crimson Stripe

Ordered the top in crimson stripe but it turned out to be crimson and creamy white, which did not suit my colouring and, therefore, I returned it. I have previously purchased the breton top last year and the stripe was whiter. The quality of the top is excellent and I liked the neckline and length.

- Ceri (25/06/2019)

Reply from Kettlewell - We're using the same white as last year but it does become 'whiter' after washing so it could be that you're comparing pre-washed with a washed one.



STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

Beautiful top, really smart casual, great fit.

- viv (06/06/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: X Small COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

The neckline on this top is easily the most flattering I own. Part of my first order, and I ordered everything in a small, and it all came up a little large for me , even though I am an 8-10. Reordered in an XS to compare and that was spot on for me. As soon as I got the sizing right , the top looked perfect , rather than just good . My only sadness is that by the time I realised my correct size, it was sold out in the cerise pink, which I absolutely loved . I don't know if Kettlewell consider feedback from customers to inform new seasons designs, but if they made this style of top in plain colours, I would probably buy it in every summer pallet shade.

- Caroline (04/06/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

A good quality, well cut, flattering top. I chose the Cerise stripe but as a Winter I found the colour not quite right so have exchanged it for the navy, which I think I'll wear more. I'm a standard size 10 & 34C and the small is a good fit. Highly recommend as a top quality wardrobe staple.

- Fiona (31/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

Have washed and worn this top at least 5 times now as it's proving to be a wardrobe staple. Looks great under dresses, jackets, casual or smart. I prefer the relaxed fit of this year's design - more comfortable and makes for a more modern look.

- Josephine (31/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Crimson Stripe

A good quality and nicely shaped top.

- Christine (30/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

Delighted with my pink striped top. Bright and cheerful! Great for for me, size 12.

- Sue L (25/05/2019)

STYLE 1 QUALITY 2 VALUE 2

SIZE: X Small COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

A nice top and colour ok but too baggy and boxy for my petite frame so returned.

- Vicky (18/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

I love the breton top, the quality and fit are perfect. the colour is bright and very fresh looking. I am very happy with it.

- Margaret (17/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 4 VALUE 3

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Crimson Stripe

Neckline just right for my narrow shoulders & thin neck. Small size a bit clingy so went for the medium which looks and hangs better. The elastane content does make it feel warmer so more suitable for cooler days.

- Jane (17/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

I have this in the multi colour which is lovely. However I found the white on the white/teal stripe didn't seem so vivid - more a soft white.

- Jackie (16/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

A very pretty and fresh looking Breton in pink and white. Comfortable to wear. Slightly fitted and has a soft feel.

- Elizabeth (09/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Crimson Stripe

Last summer I bought three Kettlewell Bretons in size L in different colour stripes and loved them. First of all I was disappointed that there was no navy and soft white Breton in this summer’s range as this colour combo is such an excellent wardrobe staple however I went for the crimson stripe in L (same size as last year) - unfortunately it is bigger and baggier than last year’s Bretons - even the sleeves seem loose on me. I was depending on it to wear on a weekend away so I have kept it but otherwise I would have returned it.

- Margaret (02/05/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

Excellent quality cotton top and love the slightly relaxed fit. Will order another colour as I can see myself wearing all year round.

- melanie (29/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

As an autumn I loved the colour as I usually go for my safer warm reds and corals. Unfortunately had to return as the medium was too big, which was unexpected as I have the same top in medium from a previous season and it fits beautifully? Might try ordering a small but I suspect it will be too tight, I made that mistake last summer and now have a sleeveless V that I can’t really wear. I do love kettlewell but the sizing inconsistencies are tricky and unfortunately for me I think I sometimes fall in between sizes.

- Catherine (29/04/2019)

STYLE 4 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: X Small COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

I bought my usual Kettlewell size, Small, but it was too big all over. I returned it for XS. It looks great tucked in. Not so good over trousers as a bit tight on my hips. The material is lovely and the bright teal is perfect for me. Because of the sizing, though, I have hesitated to buy another, or the multi colour version which I assume is similar.

- Janet W (27/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 3

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

Comfortable top and flattering style, however I was disappointed that the white background was a bright white, not a Spring white, which is really unflattering and doesn’t do justice to the Dutch blue. I also agree with the previous reviewer who mentioned that these run larger than last year’s version, but after washing it did shrink to fit.

- Jan (26/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: X Small COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Wonderful colour and material, great fit. Just love it and have ordered another in a different colour.

- Nicola (26/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Crimson Stripe

Lovely material -I far prefer cotton to viscose. The shape is good too -relaxed fit with just enough shaping. I’m a size 16 and this Large size top fits perfectly without being too clingy. I’m quite tall 5’7” and the length is just right too.

- Kate (23/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Loved this top as soon as I unwrapped it. The bright teal is a gorgeous colour and teamed with the bright teal infinity staff I seem to get lots of compliments! I am usually a size 14 and the Large size is a perfect fit for me. Good quality.

- Fiona (18/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: LL COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Lovely quality , brighter than I was expecting . Sadly too big for me so it was returned.

- Alison (08/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

Love these Breton T shirts. Softly fitted, but not clingy. No gimmicks. Perfect. I’m a slim size 10, and a small is just right.

- Toots (08/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Very nice top in a fresh colour, great for summer. I ordered a Medium, my usual size at Kettlewell (I am a size 10/12). I found this top more generously cut than the Breton stripe top in watermelon which I bought last year. This one felt and looked too big, so has been returned for a size Small. I have bought quite a few items from Kettlewell during the last two years and this is only my second return because of size.

- Torunn (06/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

I have loads of Breton tops from various manufacturers, this one is my favourite, it’s also the most expensive. Initially I decided to treat myself because I loved the colour (bright teal - gorgeous!). I am so glad I did. The fabric is soft, has some structure but isn’t stiff. It fits but doesn’t cling and is very flattering. I bought Size L (I’m size 14, 5’ 1”). Some Kettlewell tops are too long for me but this one is fine. It has also washed beautifully, no shrinking, no twisting, comes up like new. So, yes, it was expensive but worth every penny!

- Terry (01/04/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

What a lovely top. Super colour, very fine fabric so perfect for summer and when you want to keep your arms covered either agains the sun or a cool wind.

- Nicky (31/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: LL COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

So pleased with this top. Fabric is a little thicker than most t shirts which is great to wear on its own or with a little denim jacket. The color of course is perfect for me (cerise) . I bought the LL size , I am a USA 14 and was concerned it might be too large but it is just right, slightly loose as I like it. The size chart was dead on. I purchased other items with this and every item was exact to the fit chart. While I initially thought the price was a little high, the quality is well worth the price. I have worn the top twice already!

- Martha L (31/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 4 VALUE 5

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

First buy from kettlewell and really pleased with my new top. Lovely fit and colour. The fabric is really good too, not too heavy but not too thin and see through either, just right for a British Spring/summer. Will certainly be buy more items.

- Vanessa (31/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

1st ever purchase from Kettlewell. A friend recommended your website. Absolutely delighted with the Breton top. Shape and fit absolutely perfect, from the way the boat neck sits to the waist definition and mid hip length. The colour is as vibrant as the photo and the quality of material exceptional. This is so one of the best recommendations I have ever been given. I shall be a regular visitor to your website.

- Alison (31/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 4

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Very pleased with this top, I am 5ft1, size 12 and often fall in between sizes small and medium with kettlewell which is unfortunate, however top fits beautifully, hurrah!

- Catherine (31/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

Loved the top and colour. Beautifully made. However it is not semi fitted. I bought large as I am a 14 and it is fitted. It is also too long for my 5’ 2” height. Disappointed.

- Catherine (31/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Medium COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Reordered in a smaller size and this is a good fit. Nice cotton and great colour.

- Barbara (22/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Brilliant as usual Kettlewell! Lovely colour and material! Delivery excellent! Well done!

- Janet (19/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

This was a lovely top, it was supposed to be a relaxed fit but it was rather tight and clingy. Also too long for my 5’2” height. Sadly it was returned.

- Kathleen (18/03/2019)

STYLE 3 QUALITY 3 VALUE 3

SIZE: LL COLOUR: Dutch Blue Stripe

I love the colours (Dutch blue and bright teal) and shape of this Breton and the LL fitted well for a size 16. However, for me, this top is too short. I am 5 ft 9 inches tall and find that anything shorter than 25 inches does not flatter me. I could not justify paying this price for something not quite right. It would be great if you could make a Breton style in a longer length though I recognise that the shorter length suits many people.

- LizB (16/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: X Small COLOUR: Crimson Stripe

This is a fantastic top, great fabric, colors and shape. XS still provides relaxed fit. It is just the right length, so one does not need to tuck it in. Love it!

- Veronika H. (16/03/2019)

STYLE 3 QUALITY 3 VALUE 3

SIZE: Small COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

Bought this in Small as neck would have been cut too wide in a Medium. Body frankly a bit tight & clingy on my bony size 8-10 frame. Hoping it’ll stretch a bit with wear! Colour lovely.

- Jane (15/03/2019)

STYLE 4 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

The fit is much more relaxed than last year so will try a smaller size.

- Barbara (12/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Cerise Pink Stripe

These are a welcome burst of fresh spring colours! My two new bretons have just arrived, in cerise stripe and bright jade. Both are lovely. The cerise is a vibrant, true, blue-pink, the jade a clear shade balanced between green and blue. Both go very well with other garments in the Kettlewell Winter palette. The material seems a little softer than the navy breton from last season, and the cut is just a shade more generous (which will probably make them a tad cooler in the summer). The boat neck is very easy to wear, and looks great with a Florence Infinity scarf in either a matching or a contrasting colour. You can wear a camisole or a silky top underneath for cooler days or if you want to layer. These tops are a great combination of a classic style that can be worn for years, with some vivid new colours that add a fresh dimension to the wardrobe. A great start to spring!

- Kathy (10/03/2019)

STYLE 5 QUALITY 5 VALUE 5

SIZE: Large COLOUR: Bright Teal Stripe

I am addicted to Kettlewells breton stripe tops. I now have a wardrobe full! Ive bought the bright teal in a L, fits true to size, I am a high street 14. Love it.

- Bek (08/03/2019)